Walk of Fame

2023 Nomination Form

General Information

The Southwest Virginia Museum Historical State Park is currently accepting nominations for the Southwest Virginia Walk of Fame. The Walk of Fame was founded to provide a showcase for the heritage of Southwest Virginia and to advance the knowledge, awareness, and appreciation of great Southwest Virginians—past and present—who have made significant contributions to our state, nation, and world. To qualify, nominees must have been born in the far southwest counties of Virginia (Lee, Wise, Scott, Dickenson, Russell, Buchanan, Tazewell, and the City of Norton), lived in the area for more than five years, or spent their formative or creative years in the area. Additionally, their accomplishments must be of state, national, or global importance.

Nominations must be received by March 15 and can be submitted by:

  • Email at swvamuseum@dcr.virginia.gov
  • Online entry form below
  • Drop off at the Southwest Virginia Museum during regular operating hours

Nominations will be reviewed by a selection committee comprised of representatives from regional, cultural, and academic institutions and area civic organizations. Those selected by the committee will be honored at a public ceremony at the Southwest Virginia Museum Historical State Park at 11 a.m. on Saturday, May 27, 2023. The ceremony will be part of the park’s annual “Gathering in the Gap” Music Festival, which also coincides with the park’s 75th anniversary.

For more information, please call the park at 276-523-1322.

Current Inductees

  • Moran Lee “Dock” Boggs
  • “Bullet Bill” Dudley
  • Ollan Cassell
  • Jim & Jesse McReynolds
  • Helen Timmons Henderson
  • Dr. Ralph Stanley
  • George C. Peery
  • Ron Carson
  • Francis Gary Powers
  • Gene Grabeel
  • Campbell Bascom Slemp
  • Dr. Helen Matthews Lewis
  • Carter & Ralph Stanley
  • Kate Peters Sturgill
  • Don Whitehead
  • Carrol Dale
  • Carter Family
  • Dr. Miriam Morris Fuller
  • Dr. Junius Griffin
  • Frank Rowlett
  • Abner Linwood Holton, Jr.
  • Gen. Rees Bowen
  • Darrell “Shifty” Powers
  • Edd Clark
  • George C. Scott
  • Thomas Quinn Jones
  • Henry C. Stuart
  • Gurney Norman
  • Andrew Still
  • Maybelle Carter
  • Daniel Boone
  • Cynthia Fannon Kinser
  • John Fox, Jr.
  • Dr. Joseph Smiddy
  • Napoleon Hill
  • Lt. Rees Bowen
  • George C. Peery
  • Ross Carter
  • Glenn Roberts
  • Julius Jones
  • Lee Smith
  • Carl Martin
  • Dr. William Starnes
  • Adriana Trigiani
  • Peggie Castle

Nomination Form

7 + 0 = ?